So, what can I tell you that would help you get to know me?

First of all, my name is Becky. My husand and I have been married since 1993 and after trying the first seven years, we finally welcome our oldest son, William. Twenty-two months after that, we welcomed another son, Jonathan.

When they were old enough, I began my long-time desire to homeschool them.  I like to quote my friend Barb who always said, "the days are long, but the years are short!"  That is so true!!  On July 18th of 2020, they graduated together during a wonderful (and social-distancing) ceremony at our church.

In 2008, a couple of years into our schooling, I learned that my inherited kidney disease had progressed to a point where dialysis was needed.  I was determined to continue homeschooling and chose to do dialysis at home.  It was hard, but not impossible, and on March 27th of 2010, I received a call that changed things - a new kidney!  With a little help, we finished the school year and I was able to take the summer break to recover.

I continued homeschooling the boys while occasionally dealing with issues that were not so much a result of the kidney disease/transplant, but were directly related to the medications I take to prevent rejection of the kidney.  I reached the 10 year mark this year (2020) and am happy that I was able to reach my goal of getting them graduated.

Now I am "retired" and have new routines and interests to occupy my time.  I don't get out much, because even though COVID has changed everything, I'm still pretty much a homebody.

I could play all day with my planner, computer, and printer - and sometimes I do! Although I'm not schooling, I've used a lot of those same skills to get my youngest organized and situated in his first year of college.  We have a University in our town, so he is living at home - they both are, and I'm still needed!  <wink>

More about me?  I'm a Jesus-follower and am thankful my guys are, too. When you can drag me away from playing with my planner, I like to read, crochet, and hanging out with my family.  I have 3 sisters that I adore and talk to regularly by texting or video chat.  We also get together as often as we can.  My oldest sister and I are 10½ months apart and the young two, identical twins are 2½ years younger than me.

Anything else you want to know?  Feel free to leave a question in the comments below.

  • Share: